Skip to main content
Email Subscription

To sign up for email updates from Macomb County or to access your subscriber preferences, please enter your email address. If you would like to subscribe for text alerts please select Text Updates in the drop-down menu.

Prosecuting Attorney
Peter J. Lucido

Child Protection Unit

Our mission is to prosecute crimes against children, empower the victims of sexual assault, and transform society’s response to sexual and physical child abuse.

The Macomb County Child Protection Unit, or CPU, prosecutes those who commit crimes against our youngest, most vulnerable citizens.

The CPU works with local and state police agencies to investigate and bring to justice child abuse cases, as well as all cases of a sexual nature when the victim is younger than 18 at the time of the criminal acts.

The CPU Unit works to meet two goals:

  1. To investigate every case in a full and fair manner, so that justice may be done; and
  2. To treat victims and families fairly and responsibly, so that victims are not dissuaded from reporting crimes and following through on their prosecution.

The assistant prosecutors in the CPU are seasoned trial attorneys who have undergone, and continue to undergo, specialized training in the field. They have dedicated their professional lives to helping those victims too young to protect themselves against abuse and sexual predators.

Chief: Molly Zappitell 
Email: molly.zappitell@macombgov.org

APA Alexandra Fedorak
Email: Alexandra.fedorak@macombgov.org

APA Kumar Palepu
Email: kumar.palepu@macombgov.org

APA Elizabeth Rittinger
Email: Elizabeth.rittinger@macombgov.org

APA Stephanie Stager
Email: Stephanie.stager@macombgov.org

APA Colleen Worden 
Email colleen.worden@macombgov.org

Report Actual or Suspected Child Abuse or Neglect Form